Rebecca R. Gould

READ | THINK | WRITE

The Persian Prison Poem

Now out in Paperback!

The Persian Prison Poem can be purchased at a 30% discount directly from the publisher. Use code PAPER30.

 
 
 

I introduce the book here

I discuss the Christian Qasida of Khaqani and Christian themes in Persian prison poetry here

https://youtu.be/OMlh44CWi-8

Some Reviews

From the book:

 
 
 
 

The Persian Prison Poem is part of the

Edinburgh Historical Studies of Iran and the Persian World book series.  

It will be released in in South Asia by Primus Books.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Zahhak bound on mount Damavand. Baysungur's Shahnama, 1430

Future Work

With Kayvan Tahmasebian, I am working on The Persian Prison Poem: An Anthology from South Asia to the Caucasus (generously funded by the British Institute of Persian Studies). You can download a preliminary table of contents for our anthology here: PPP Anthology.

Please get in touch if you come across poems about prison or poets who wrote about imprisonment in the Persianate world which are not mentioned in the Table of Contents.

 

Past Work

I have been working on this project ever since I began my PhD at Columbia University. My previous work on prison poetry includes:

Creative work

Finally, see my “Prison Literature Reading List, Medieval and Modern,” compiled when I first embarked on this subject as a PhD student. You’ll notice there a comment from the Iranian writer Reza Baraheni (d. 2022), who was imprisoned under the Shah.

EVENTS (PAST AND FUTURE)

Stay tuned for the next event related to The Persian Prison Poem, to be hosted by the Association of Iranica in Australasia on 23 November 2023 (9AM Australia time; 10pm UK time; 5pm Eastern Time, US)!

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

© 2024 Rebecca R. Gould

Theme by Anders Norén